How long do I have to File a Claim after a Workplace Injury?

A workplace injury can cause a lot of strain on an individual who may be trying to mend those injuries while also trying to figure out how to cover medical costs. Workers’ compensation is a system that is in place in which an employer is legally obligated to provide an injured employee with all of the necessary funding to pay for the medical costs of said injury. In the State of Florida, this is mandatory, so an employer may never deny an injured employee the compensation that he or she deserves. That being said, there are guidelines for how a claim should be submitted in order to be valid, and the timeline of when a claim should be filed in essential to winning a case.

According to Florida law, a workplace injury must be reported within 30 days in order for it to be considered valid. Although there are sometimes exceptions to this, they are few and far between, so it is highly recommended that an employee report any incidents as soon as possible. It is also recommended that the injured employee seek the necessary medical attention as soon as possible following the incident. This is not only beneficial to the person’s health and the recovery speed of the injury, but it also begins a paper trail of health care appointments, which is useful for establishing the validity of the injury should the case go to court.

For the exceptional circumstances in which an injury can be reported longer than 30 days, there is a statute of limitation for a personal injury in the workplace. In the State of Florida, this is two years. While this might not apply to every workers’ compensation situation, it is good to know that there may be more of a time limit, especially if the injury requires more extensive medical treatment. Note that it also normal to not hear anything about the claim by the employer until seven days after it is reported, which is the legal timeline for when an employer must act on a claim.

Remember, if you or someone you know is injured on the job, then it is always a good idea to report the incident to your employer’s human resources department and seek necessary medical attention as soon as possible following said incident. If you claim is valid and is still denied by the employer, then you should pursue legal action against the company in order to receive the financial compensation that you need to treat your wounds and return to a normal, fulfilling life. For more information about the guidance and support that the Franco Law Firm can provide for your workers’ compensation case, please call us at 813 872 0929.