3 Big Reasons you can’t Afford a DWI
Driving while under the influence of alcohol is a major motor problem for many states, including our own. While the laws regulating what constitutes a driving while under the influence (DWI) charge vary from state to state, the cost of one is always going to be fairly high. In every case, it is completely avoidable to have to get a DWI charge by practicing safe driving techniques and not getting behind the wheel of a vehicle if you have had too much to drink. If the prospect of risking your own life or someone else’s isn’t enough of a deterrent to avoid drunk driving, then perhaps understanding the cost of one will.
It is easy to convince yourself, especially after a few alcoholic drinks, that you don’t get hurt while driving. Even if you don’t however, the charge of a DWI is fairly high for such an avoidable scenario. In the State of Florida, the minimum fine for one’s first DWI offense is $250, but tends to be closer to $500. If the person’s blood alcohol content (BAC) is over 2.0, then the minimum fine becomes $500, but can go as high as $1000. The cost of each consecutive DWI increases as well.
Besides just a fine, there is also the potential for jail time to be served for a DWI. A maximum sentence of 6 months is appropriate, but that increases to 9 months if the BAC is over 2.0 or if a minor is present in the vehicle at the time. Again, this increases for the second and further DWI’s issued. In addition, a person’s license is suspended for up to a year after receiving a DWI and would require the completion of Florida’s DWI School program before the reinstatement of the license.
Between hefty fines, jail time, and a suspended driver’s license, there are many reasons to not drive while under the influence of alcohol and absolutely no good reasons to. If you find yourself in a scenario where you feel you have to drive, have a friend pick you up or call a taxi service to drive you home. In the worst case scenario you do find yourself with a DWI charge and need an attorney, we at the Franco Law Firm will help you best you can so you can get back on your feet and a responsible life. For a free consultation, please call us at (813) 872-0929.