Florida Car Seat Laws
While using a car seat for a child is a common practice and seems like common sense, it actually a requirement by law in many different states. Florida is one such state with specific guidelines for car seat usage and these are important to know if you have children or drive with them. If you fail to follow Florida car seat laws, not only are you putting your children at risk, but you are also opening yourself to fines and liabilities in car accidents, should they occur.
Firstly, every child 5 years of age or younger must be secured in a federally approved car seat or one that is built into a vehicle (which some newer car and van designs have). In addition, children 3 years of age and younger must use a separate car seat, as must children between the ages of 4 and 5. The latter of these is dependent on the child’s height and weight. Although it is not technically required by law, it is highly recommended by the State of Florida that all children 12 years of age and under ride in the back seat of the vehicle.
Failure to comply with any of the aforementioned laws will result in a $60 fine from the State of Florida and 3 points put against the person’s driver’s license. If you are unsure if your car seat is a federally approved one, you can check the information that came with the seat or, more often than not, the seat will have a tag on it indicating that it does indeed have federal compliance.
Car safety is even more important for children and therefore these laws should be followed to reduce the risk of injury in an accident. If you or your children have been injured in a car accident, then you may have grounds for a personal injury suit, which we at the Franco Law Firm can assist you with. For more information and to schedule a free consultation with us, please call at (813) 872-0929 any time.