Steps In A Tampa Workers’ Compensation Claim
Getting injured on the job in Tampa can be devastating. Whether your injury can heal relatively quickly with medical treatment or you are likely to have suffered a permanently disabling injury, it will be important to seek workers’ compensation benefits to cover your medical bills and to provide you with a partial payment for lost wages during the days that you are unable to work. In order to obtain workers’ compensation benefits, you will need to make sure that you take all necessary steps that are required under Florida workers’ compensation law. An experienced Tampa workers’ compensation attorney can tell you more. In the meantime, you should consider the following steps after a workplace accident.
- Document the Scene of the Accident
If you are able to do so, it is important to document the scene of the workplace accident as best as you can. If you are able to take photographs, you should do so. When you take pictures, be sure to capture the broader area where your injury occurred as well as any close-up images that can help to show how and where the accident happened. You should also note the names of any co-workers or other parties who may have been present to witness the accident.
- Report the Accident and Injury to Your Employer
You should report the accident to your employer as soon as possible. At the very least, you must report the injury to your employer within 30 days from the date that the accident occurred. If you fail to report the injury to your employer within that 30-day time window, you may be unable to seek workers’ compensation benefits unless an exception applies.
- Seek Medical Attention from an Approved Provider
It is critical to seek medical attention, and to get your health care from an approved provider. If your workplace accident results in serious injuries that require emergency care, you do not need to find an approved provider for an initial emergency visit. However, for any subsequent care or non-emergency situations, you must see an approved provider. While some states allow injured workers to choose their own doctors, Florida requires injured workers to choose a doctor from an approved list.
- Receive a Copy of the First Report of Injury
Next, you will receive a copy of the First Report of Injury. If you are eligible for workers’ compensation benefits, you will begin receiving wage replacement payments within 21 days from the date you reported the accident to your employer.
- Resolve Disputes or Appeal
If you are denied workers’ compensation benefits or there is a dispute, it is critical to begin the process of resolving the dispute or appealing the denial of benefits with assistance from a workers’ compensation attorney in Tampa.
Contact a Tampa Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Today
If you have questions or need assistance with your workers’ compensation claim, you should get in touch with one of the Tampa workers’ compensation attorneys at Franco Law Firm today. Our firm can assist you with a wide range of issues involving workers’ compensation in Florida.